Having trouble viewing RangerReview.com?

Try clearing your cache or contact us at:

406-377-3303 or rrcomp@rangerreview.com .

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

DCHS honors spring sports participants

By Kevin Miller

Ranger-Review Staff Writer

The annual DCHS spring sports banquet was held Tuesday. In all, there were 73 varsity letters earned by DCHS students for the 2014 spring season.  Special awards for the spring as well as for the year and for a career were presented in addition to the varsity letters.

The DCHS track & field teams had 27 letters that were presented, 17 to boys and 10 to girls. Taylor Schwartz was named Most Valuable for the Red Devils in field events. Ashton Jones and Colter Bachmeier earned the same award on the track. The overall Most Valuable Player went to Tanner Schwartz. For the Lady Red Devils, the overall Most Valuable was awarded to Austyn Copp. Carly Svenvold earned Most Valuable in the field. Kendra Zander was presented the Most Valuable on the track.

All state recognition for the track athletes went to Dillon Silvernale, Tai Sokoloski, Colter Bachmeier, John LeSueur, Tanner Schwartz and Taylor Schwartz. Girls receiving this same honor was Austyn Copp.

Todd Naasz presented 18 varsity letters to his Lady Devil softball players. The special awards in DCHS softball went to Aspen Gibbs for Head & Heart Award, Lexi Pettersen for Most Valuable - offense, Wyniah Mintz for Most Valuable - defense and to Pettersen for Most Valuable Player. 

Earning All-State honors was Pettersen for her play at third base. Eastern A All-Conference players were Amanda Mittlestadt, Lexi Pettersen and Haylee Storlie.  The co-captains for the Lady Red Devils were Sarah Temple, Aspen Gibbs and Haylee Storlie.

Rich Lindgren had 14 boys and 14 girls who were presented with a varsity letter in tennis. Hadyn Pettersen and Gavin McPherson were the boys’ captains and Morgan Mires and Annie Hill were the girls’ team captains.

Most Improved player for the Red Devils was Josh Hoffer and for the Lady Red Devils it was Danielle Tiedje.  Dennis Berg, Gavin McPherson and Annie Hill were named as the team’s Most Valuable.

All-State for tennis was earned by Jory Opp, Dennis Berg and Gavin McPherson.

Jim Person named the two seniors who were honored with the Kenny McGovern Memorial Award. The two Senior Athletes of the Year went to Colter Bachmeier and Austyn Copp.

Seven Letter Awards for a career at DCHS went to seniors Austyn Copp, Annie Hill, Carly Svenvold, Meriah Taylor, Colter Bachmeier, Josef Hageman, Gavin McPherson, Hadyn Pettersen, Tanner Schwartz, Taylor Schwartz and Dillon Tennant.

There were also four girls and nine boys who earned three varsity letters for the 2013-2014 school year. They were Copp, Teia Knutson, Maria Zimdars, Taya Torres, Bachmeier, Austin Orcutt, McPherson, Schwartz, Schwartz, Berg, Silvernale, Jarod Asche and Carson Oakland.

The Booster of  the Year went to Kevin Dorwart and to Brian Dowson.  

Reach Kevin Miller at

Site Design, Programming & Development by Surf New Media
Comment Here