Having trouble viewing RangerReview.com?

Try clearing your cache or contact us at:

406-377-3303 or rrcomp@rangerreview.com .

Saturday, March 24, 2018

Varsity letters awarded at DCHS winter sports banquet Monday night

By Kevin Miller

Ranger-Review Staff Writer

DCHS held its annual winter sports banquet Monday night at the EPEC. The banquet was the Red Devil Booster Club and the local Elks Drum & Bugle. The coaches for cheer team, wrestling, boys’ basketball and girls’ basketball honored their student athletes for the 2013-2014 season.

In all the four coaches awarded 60 varsity letters.  Tina Diegel had 11 varsity letters to hand out to the cheer team. Wresting coach Tim Zody had 15 letters to award. There were 17 letters earned for both boys’ basketball and girls’ basketball.

Aspen Gibbs was the lone senior for the cheer team.  Two boys, Brendan James and Trevor Berreth, also earned a letter this year for their assistance to the cheer squad. Taylor Grigsby was the team captain for Diegel.

Coach Zody followed Diegel with the wrestling awards. The first wrestling awards were for team captains that went to Hunter Heebaugh and Dillon Tennant, both seniors at DCHS.  Earning All-Conference awards for wrestling were Travis Kinn, Brandt Ackerman, Anthony James, Tyler Kutzler, Herbaugh and Tennant. Kinn and Tennant were also recognized as All-State Award recipients.

Special awards in wrestling went to Tennant for high-point (442.5), most near falls (35), most takedowns (88) and most pins (31). Tennant’s 31 pins in a season set a school record.  Herbaugh earned awards for most escapes (36) and fastest pin (0:11). Ackerman had the most reversals (23) and also fastest pin (0:11). The Matt Siegle Award was given to Herbaugh and the Darwin Jung Most Valuable Wrestler went to Tennant.

Coach Wade Murphy presented the boys’ basketball awards to his Red Devil players and managers. Seven of the letters earned in basketball were by seniors.  All-Conference and All-State awards were also presented by Murphy. Bryden Boehning earned both Eastern A All-Conference and Class A All-State. Colter Bachmeier was acknowledged as a 1st team All-Conference player. Tanner Schwartz earned honorable mention in the Eastern A.

Coach Kayla Rivas rounded out the evening by presenting the awards for girls’ basketball. Rivas had just two seniors — Austyn Kopp and Meriah Taylor — who were varsity letter recipients.  Maria Zimdars, another varsity letter winner, was named to the second team All-Conference in the Eastern A.

Rivas had four special awards to present. The Most Improved Player went to Chancy Fink. Earning the Most Inspirational Player were Copp and Taylor. The Carol Wyse/Head & Heart Award was presented to Zimdars.

Reach Kevin Miller at

Site Design, Programming & Development by Surf New Media
Comment Here